You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one

Maybe you’ve seen a bumper sticker with Mahatma Gandhi’s famous quote: “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” This blog can be considered a response to that challenge. It’s about doing the little things every day in a manner that lets us make the kind of mark we want on the world.

The truth is we leave a little bit of ourselves behind in every interaction we have, so why not leave the best of ourselves with whomever we touch?

I’m a dreamer, I know. But, I’m also pragmatic. All of humanity might well be facing the greatest challenges ever put before it. We must find solutions for large issues like dealing with climate change, hostile nations and archaic beliefs, and small problems like the ones life throws our way every day.

I believe it’s by thinking deeply about the question of who we want to be in this world that we’ll find the answer. That’s why I wrote the book A Gracious Way of Life. In it I consider many of the interactions we have every day and try to sort out how to be both kind and true to yourself. In this blog I’ll be thinking out loud about some of those considerations.

I invite you to come along for the adventure and to participate in the discussion because heaven knows, nobody can do it alone.

Leave a Reply

